Donald Tusk’s administration is the largest Polish government in history

The new Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk, center, with members of his government, poses for cameras at the Presidential Palace in Warsaw, Poland, Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2023. (AP Photo/Czarek Sokolowski)
By John Cody
2 Min Read

Donald Tusk’s new government in Poland is the largest in history, boasting a total of 134 members, according to a review conducted by Gazeta Wyborcza.

The administration comprises 112 ministers and deputy ministers, while additional director-generals of ministries and other additional positions including chiefs-of-staff bring the figure to the highest on record.

The revelation comes amidst previous criticisms leveled by the ruling coalition against the conservatives (PiS) for what was described as their bloated government structure before last autumn’s elections.

The government comprises 20 ministries, including the Ministry of Industry, which is currently in the process of being established. Despite the ministry’s official launch set for March, its designated head, Marzena Czarnecka, has already assumed her role.

The campaign promises of Tusk and other leaders of his party’s platform painted a different picture. They criticized Law and Justice Party (PiS) for its costly administration, accusing it of political corruption, including the distribution of government positions. They pledged to introduce new standards for a more cost-effective administration.

“According to campaign promises, Tusk and the rest of the leaders on his side envisioned a different scenario. They criticized PiS for its costly administration and talked about political corruption that involved distributing government jobs. The campaign promised new standards and a cheaper administration,” the Gazeta Wyborcza newspaper noted.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, led by Radosław Sikorski, emerged as the largest department, employing nine members of the government.

In comparison, back in March 2018, the government led by Mateusz Morawiecki counted 126 ministers and deputy ministers, marking the highest number of positions filled within the previous Council of Ministers. Following a government reshuffle, his government was reduced to just over 100 members.

Share This Article