EU Mobility Package will divide Europe

By admin
1 Min Read

The European Parliament (EP) has rejected amendments to the so-called EU mobility package.

The amendments were prepared primarily by MEPs from Law and Justice (PiS) and the Civic Platform (PO).

This means that the regulations which are considered harmful by Poland and several other Central European countries will come into effect in 2020 and 2021.

The secretary general of the Lithuanian transporter association called the EU mobility package, which was just passed in the European Parliament (EP), “the new Ribbentrop-Molotov pact” which will divide Europe.

The Polish minister of infrastructure Andrzej Adamczyk emphasized, on the other hand, that protectionism had won against common sense.

Adamczyk reminded that on June 29, 2020 nine EU states (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland and Romania) sent a letter to MEPs concerning the mobility package, in which they stressed that introducing the new regulations would practically exclude some EU member states from the European single market.