Strengthening parliamentary cooperation between Czech Republic, Slovakia and Austria

The so called Kroměříž Declaration aims to deepen cooperation of Czech, Slovak and Austrian parliaments.

editor: REMIX NEWS

The declaration was signed by the Czech Chamber of Deputies chairman Radek Vondráček and his counterparts, Andrej Danko and Wolfgang Sobotka. The parliament heads committed to boost the citizens’ trust in democratic processes and the European integration and to remove misunderstandings that have been recently occurring in Europe.

Representatives also agreed on exchanges of workers of the Parliaments. Sobotka stated that half-year internships of Czech and Slovaks are being prepared at the Austrian National Council and that the exchange stays would begin next year.

The participants of the two-day meeting also began drafting a code of ethics for parliaments. “It is important to talk about it in terms of clientelism, corruption, but even clothing at parliamentary meetings,” Danko said.

The meeting follows in tripartite cooperation of the Czech, Austrian and Slovak governments in Slavkov format, the first meeting of which took place on January 29, 2015 in Slavkok at Brno, and also commemorated the 170th anniversary of the meeting of the Austrian Imperial Council in Kroměříž which attempted to create the first constitution that would form a basis of the new constitutional order of the Habsburg monarchy, the equality of nations and modern division of power.


tend: 1660358705.9137